Ambroise

The Franciscan of Vézelay

Stop, why are you running?

The Father at this moment begets his son in you,

Heaven is in you, why seek it elsewhere?

                                                              A. Silesius

HE WAS "THE SPIRIT OF SPIRAL”, the one behind the logo borrowed from Christ in Glory of the tympanum of the basilica of Vézelay, the one who inspired, since its creation in 1996, this opening of the spiritual to the profane, but also the awakening of consciousness, in these times of great mutation and cosmic ascension in a new cycle of evolution.

Brother Ambroise left the terrestrial plane in the early hours of December 20, 2018, in the haven of peace of the Convent of Canclaux, in the heart of Nantes. His death at the age of 97 signified the end of his mission among men, but his spirit was more alive than ever and present in the hearts of all those who knew him or only approached him.

 

THE GUARD OF THE CORDELLE

Brother Ambroise, it was first Vézelay, a name that tinkles like a chime in a sort of infinity, and that tradition has nicknamed Mount Scorpion. Seen from the sky, the city indeed represents a curved shape, an abdomen with seven rings, with a tail with segments, the last of which is armed with a sting.

Of all the signs of the zodiac, the scorpion is characterized by the life and death cycle. A well-defined symbol for this place of transmutation renowned for the persistence of its telluric radiations and its cosmic waves. It is the irreducible enemy or absolute ecstasy, healing in Eternal Life. One can only escape death by passing through Christ who comes to bring perfection and to open the way for the new life, Rebirth. Vézelay exists only through love, and through conquered death.

For more than forty years, Brother Ambroise was the “guardian” of La Cordelle, the small Franciscan hermitage below the ramparts of the “Inspired Hill”, created eight centuries earlier by Brother Pacific, sent there by Saint Francis of Seat to spread the word of poverty on the land of France.

It is in this place, with its stripped beauty and authentically Franciscan simplicity, not far from the high wooden cross where, on Easter Day 1,146, Bernard de Clairvaux preached the second crusade, alongside King Louis VII and Queen Eleanor of Aquitaine, whom Brother Ambroise will welcome retreatants from around the world, including personalities from the scientific, artistic and literary worlds.

It is there that, more modestly, one morning of Pentecost 1995, we will meet him, knocking, energetically, on the wooden door of La Cordelle. In a soft and playful voice, he will invite us to write to him to set a date for a retreat which, he specifies, "is done with respect for beliefs and freedom of conscience for everyone".

Winter this year will be terrible with temperatures down to minus 27 ° C, in this extreme tip of the Morvan, with wind-blown slippery paths and snow-covered oak forests. A rough country and yet, it’s as if we find our native land, bathed in a kind of mystical happiness, under the gaze of Marie-Madeleine, the patron saint of Vézelay.

In the small, overheated room, with windows surrounded by ice, Brother Ambroise is attentive, attentive to people as much as to their words. Unforgettable moments like this sharing of hearts to hearts, into which love and peace infuse, the kindness and humility of a rediscovered humanity.

 

MEETING WITH SAINT-FRANCOIS D'ASSISE

Besides his hospital activity, Brother Ambroise will also be a builder, by undertaking, in the rules of the art, the restoration of the chapel thanks to subsidies allocated by the Minister of Culture, André Malraux. He oversaw until the choice of golden Burgundy stone for the construction of the new high altar.

Before taking a vow of poverty, Brother Ambroise had worked as a wood sculptor after studying at the School of Fine Arts. Artist with recognized talent, he had been contacted for a special order that would change the course of his life. To realize the “Life of Saint Francis”, the one who is still called Pierre Negrel, will study in depth the life of his illustrious character who will soon call him to join his order ...

Seized by metaphysical doubt at the end of his novitiate, he then fell seriously ill, no longer remembering his past, before “being born a second time”, as he liked to say, when he found with conviction, inner peace and a sense of vocation by crossing the doors of the Franciscan Order.

From the celestial plane where his vibration now radiates, Brother Ambroise will continue to infuse the Franciscan spirit with his simplicity, his humility and his love for the Earth and all its creatures.

And it is no coincidence that his soul chose to fly on the eve of the Winter Solstice, this time of investigation, engulfed in the night of origins, inviting everyone to wake up to the Inner Light .

"This is the chosen moment of the Christic impulse for us to sense this awakening, when the midnight sun emerges within the soul," wrote Rudolf Steiner. At the height of the night, the awakening of the Spirit is announced in those who, in the midst of darkness, raise a sun which will see the new man born from the "old man".                                                                   

                                                                                                                                                                          Marc J. PANTALACCI

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon

© 2023 by Name of Site. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon

Ambroise

le Franciscain de Vézelay

“Arrête, pourquoi cours-tu ? 

Le Père en cet instant, engendre, en toi, son fils,

Le Ciel est en toi, pourquoi le chercher ailleurs ? ”

                                                              A. Silesius

IL ETAIT "L'ESPRIT DE SPIRALE”, celui à l’origine du logo emprunté au Christ en Gloire du tympan de la basilique de Vézelay, celui qui a inspiré, depuis sa création en 1996, cette ouverture du spirituel au profane, mais aussi le réveil des consciences, en ces temps de grande mutation et d’ascension cosmique dans un nouveau cycle d’évolution.

Frère Ambroise a quitté le plan terrestre aux premières heures du 20 décembre 2018, dans le hâvre de paix du Couvent de Canclaux, au cœur de Nantes. Sa mort à l’âge de 97 ans, signe la fin de sa mission parmi les hommes mais son esprit est plus que jamais vivant et présent dans les cœurs de tous ceux qui l’ont connu ou seulement approché.

 

LE GARDIEN DE LA CORDELLE

Frère Ambroise, c’était d’abord Vézelay, un nom qui tinte comme un carillon dans une sorte d’infini, et que la tradition a surnommé le Mont Scorpion. Vue du ciel, la ville représente en effet une forme courbe, un abdomen à sept anneaux, avec une queue à segments dont le dernier est armé d’un aiguillon. 

De tous les signes du zodiaque, le scorpion se caractérise par le cycle vie et mort. Un symbole bien tranché pour ce lieu de transmutation réputé pour la persistance de ses radiations telluriques et ses ondes cosmiques. C’est l’ennemi irréductible ou l’extase absolue, la guérison dans la Vie éternelle. On ne peut échapper à la mort qu’en passant par le Christ qui vient apporter la perfection et ouvrir le chemin pour la nouvelle vie, la Re-naissance. Vézelay n’existe ainsi que par l’amour, et par la mort vaincue.

Pendant plus de quarante années, frère Ambroise a été le “gardien” de La Cordelle, le petit ermitage franciscain en contrebas des remparts de la “Colline inspirée”, créé huit siècles plus tôt par frère Pacifique, envoyé là par Saint-François d’Assise pour essaimer la parole de pauvreté sur la terre de France. 

C’est en cet endroit, à la beauté dépouillée et à la simplicité authentiquement franciscaine, non loin de la haute croix de bois où, le jour de Pâques 1 146, Bernard de Clairvaux prêcha la seconde croisade, aux côtés du roi Louis VII et de la reine Aliénor d’Aquitaine, que frère Ambroise accueillera des retraitants venus du monde entier dont des personnalités des mondes scientifique, artistique et littéraire. 

C’est là, que plus modestement, un matin de la Pentecôte 1995, nous ferons sa connaissance, en frappant, énergiquement, à la porte en bois de La Cordelle. D’une voix douce et enjouée, il nous invitera à lui écrire afin de prendre date pour une retraite qui, précise-t-il, “se fait dans le respect des croyances et la liberté de conscience de chacun”. 

L’hiver, cette année-là, sera terrible avec des températures affichant jusqu’à moins 27°, dans cette pointe extrême du Morvan, aux chemins glissants balayés par le vent et aux forêts de chênes couvertes de neige. Un pays rude et pourtant, c’est comme si nous retrouvions la terre natale, baignant dans une sorte de bonheur mystique, sous le regard de Marie-Madeleine, la sainte patronne de Vézelay.

Dans la petite pièce surchauffée, aux vitres cerclées de glace, frère Ambroise est à l’écoute, attentif aux êtres autant qu’à leurs paroles. Instants inoubliables que ce partage de cœurs à cœurs, où infusent l’amour et la paix, la bonté et l’humilité d’une humanité retrouvée. 

 

LA RENCONTRE AVEC SAINT-FRANCOIS D'ASSISE

À côté de son activité hospitalière, frère Ambroise se fera aussi bâtisseur, en entreprenant, dans les règles de l’art, la restauration de la chapelle grâce à des subventions allouées par le ministre de la Culture, André Malraux. Il supervisera jusqu’au choix de la pierre dorée de Bourgogne pour la construction du nouveau maître-autel.  

Avant de faire Vœu de pauvreté, frère Ambroise avait exercé le métier de sculpteur sur bois, après des études à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts. Artiste au talent reconnu, il avait été contacté pour une commande particulière qui changera le cours de sa vie. Pour réaliser la “Vie de Saint-François”, celui qui s’appelle encore Pierre Negrel, va étudier en profondeur la vie de son illustre personnage qui l’appellera bientôt à rejoindre son ordre... 

Saisi par le doute métaphysique à la fin de son noviciat, il tombera alors gravement malade, ne se souvenant plus de son passé, avant de “naître une seconde fois”, comme il se plaisait à le dire, lorsqu’il retrouvera avec conviction, la paix intérieure et le sens de sa vocation en franchissant les portes de l’Ordre franciscain.

Du plan céleste où sa vibration rayonne désormais, frère Ambroise va continuer à nous insuffler l’esprit franciscain, par sa simplicité, son humilité et son amour pour la Terre et toutes ses créatures.

Et ce n’est pas un hasard si son âme a choisi de s’envoler à la veille du Solstice d’hiver, ce temps de l’investigation, englouti dans la nuit des origines, invitant chacun à s’éveiller à la Lumière intérieure. 

“C’est le moment choisi de l’impulsion christique pour que nous pressentions cet éveil, lorsque le Soleil de minuit émerge au sein de l’âme”, a écrit Rudolf Steiner. Au plus fort de la nuit, s’annonce l’éveil de l’Esprit chez celui et celle qui, au sein des ténèbres, suscite un soleil qui verra l’Homme nouveau naître du “vieil homme”.                                                                   

                                                                                                                                                                          Marc J. PANTALACCI